FSU and FTCC Announce Nursing Partnership

Fayetteville State University (FSU) and Fayetteville Technical Community College (FTCC) have taken a bold step in preparing more nurses with bachelor’s degrees in southeastern North Carolina.  The ADN-BSN dual enrollment agreement, recently approved by both institutions, provides a clear pathway for prospective nurses to earn an associate degree at FTCC and transfer immediately to the BSN degree program at FSU.  The plan draws on the strengths of both institutions:  FTCC, for preparing students for successful licensure as registered nurses and FSU, for preparing students for leadership roles in the nursing profession and graduate education.   The plan saves time and money for prospective students by ensuring that all credits earned at FTCC apply to FSU’s BSN program.  Students in FTCC’s ADN program will also benefit financially from the College’s affordable tuition/fees.  Students will have the option to elect the convenience of online courses, with FSU offering all courses online and FTCC offering the clinical face-to-face courses and the remaining courses online.

The dual enrollment plan is part of a larger commitment to collaboration by FSU and FTCC.  The two institutions will share classroom and laboratory space, including the new state-of-the-art nursing clinical simulation lab and building near completion at FSU.

“Since I arrived at Fayetteville State University nearly two years ago, I am impressed and proud of the partnership and agreements our institution has with Fayetteville Technical Community College,” FSU Chancellor James A. Anderson said. “The signing of this dual enrollment agreement only solidifies what I am certain will be a growing and prosperous relationship between two of the city’s premiere institutions of higher learning.”

“We are very proud of the track record of FTCC’s Associate Degree Nursing program, with its history of excellent National Council Licensure Examinations for Registered Nurses (NCLEX) pass rates and strong employer satisfaction with our graduates.  We believe this agreement with FSU provides a unique avenue for students completing our program to further their education and enhance their practitioner and leadership skills for positions in their field,” said FTCC President Dr. Larry Keen.

FSU is the second-oldest public institution in North Carolina. A member of the University of North Carolina System, FSU has more than 6,300 students and offers degrees in nearly 70 undergraduate and graduate degree programs.

Founded in 1961, FTCC is one of 58 institutions in the North Carolina Community College System. It serves more than 34,000 students annually by providing 150 occupational, technical, general education, college transfer, and continuing education programs.

Contact: Jon Young, Provost,; 910-672-1460; David Barlow, Dean,; 910-672-1659