Contact Us

Executive Director:  Norma Houston

Norma took a leave of absence from the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Government in February 2007 in order to lead the UNC Tomorrow Initiative.  Prior to joining the School of Government in 2006, she served as Chief of Staff and General Counsel to State Senate President Pro Tempore Marc Basnight.  She has also served as Dare County Attorney, an Assistant Attorney General in the N.C. Department of Justice, and staff attorney for N.C. Prisoners Legal Services. She is currently an adjunct faculty member at the UNC-Chapel Hill School of Law.  Norma earned a B.S. in criminal justice and psychology and a J.D. from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She is a member of the North Carolina State Bar and serves on the boards of several associations, non-profit organizations, and advisory councils.

Contact Norma:   (919) 843-1903


(former) Deputy Executive Director:  Tony Caravano

Tony joined UNC General Administration in March 2007.  Prior to that he served as the Director of Legislative Outreach for State Senate President Pro Tempore Marc Basnight. Caravano earned a B.A. in Criminology from North Carolina State University, where he was elected twice as the Student Body President.  He resides in Raleigh and currently serves on several boards and advisory councils for North Carolina State University.  Tony left General Administration in March 2009 and is now the Deputy State Director for United States Senator Kay Hagan.