Board of Governors Awards

 The Board of Governors presents the following awards on an annual basis.

The Governor James E. Holshouser, Jr. Award for Excellence in Public Service

The Public Service Award was created in 2007 to encourage, identify, recognize, and reward public service by faculty of the University.  Faculty of any of the 17 institutions of the University of North Carolina are eligible.  At its August 2013 meeting, the Board of Governors unanimously approved a resolution to rename the award after Governor James E. Holshouser, Jr.

Awards for Excellence in Teaching

The Teaching Awards were established in 1994 to underscore the importance of teaching and to encourage, identify, recognize, reward, and support good teaching within the University.  These awards are presented to a member of the faculty of each of the constituent institutions of the University.



Oliver Max Gardner Award

The Gardner Award, first presented in 1949, is given to that member of the faculty of the Consolidated University of North Carolina, who, during the current scholastic year, has made the greatest contribution to the welfare of the human race.  The term ‘faculty’ embraces persons, including instructors, engaged in teaching in any unit, institution or branch of service of the Consolidated University of North Carolina.

University Award

The University Award, created in 1979, recognizes illustrious service to higher education and is the highest distinction of this nature that the University bestows.  Administrators or faculty members of the University are not eligible for the Award, nor are voting members of the Board of Governors or of the institutional boards of trustees.